Upcoming Events & Appearances

September 18, 2020 | A Mighty Blaze “Frontline Friday” Series, Virtual
—w/ Caroline Leavitt (4PM ET / 1PM PT) (Event Link)

September 23, 2020 | Book Passage, Virtual
—w/ Laura van den Berg (7PM ET / 4PM PT) (Event Link)

September 24, 2020 | American Writers’ Museum & Seminary Co-Op
—w/ Charlotte Wood (7:30PM ET/4:30PM PT) (Event Link)

October 1, 2020 | Brickell Avenue Literary Society & Books and Books, Virtual
—w/ Lauren Groff (1PM ET / 10AM PT) (Event Link)

October 2, 2020 | The Woolfer Weekend (Private Event), Virtual
—w/ Stephanie Staal (12pm ET / 9AM PT) 

October 4, 2020 | Brooklyn Book Festival, Virtual
Details TK

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

October 5, 2020 | Harvard Bookstore, Virtual
—w/ Emily Gould (7PM ET / 4PM PT) (Event Link TK)

October 8, 2020 | The Antibody Reading Series, Virtual
—w/ Panelists TK (8PM ET / 5PM PT) (Event Link TK)

October 9, 2020 | BOMB Magazine “Room with a View,” Virtual
—w/ Aimee Bender (6:30PM ET / 3:30 PM PT) (Event Link)

October 12, 2020 | Inprint Margarett Root Brown Reading Series, Virtual
—w/ Julia Alvarez (8PM ET / 5PM PT) (Event Link)

November TK, 2020 | Texas Book Festival, Virtual
Details TK

December 9, 2020 | The New School, Virtual
Details TK

 

News

September 15, 2020
What Are You Going Through debuts on this week’s Indie National Bestseller List.

September 8, 2020
Today is the publication date of Sigrid’s eighth novel, What Are You Going Through, by Riverhead Books.

September 3, 2020
Sigrid is among the 10 writers shortlisted for the 2020 International Dublin Literary Award. The winner will be announced on October 22.

August 31, 2020
Dwight Garner reviews Sigrid’s new novel, What Are You Going Through, in The New York Times.

May 23, 2020
Sigrid reviews books by Garth Greenwell in The New York Review of Books.

April 9, 2020
Sigrid has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship.

November 20, 2019
Sigrid’s eighth novel, What Are You Going Through, will be published by Riverhead on September 8, 2020.
The Friend has been longlisted for the 2020 International Dublin Literary Award.
The Friend was also named a finalist for the 2019 Prix du Meilleur livre étranger.

October 1, 2019
Today is the pub date of Best American Short Stories 2019, which includes Sigrid’s story “The Plan.”
     L’Ami, the French edition of The Friend, published by Stock, has been longlisted for both the 2019 Prix du Meilleur livre étranger and the 2019 Prix Femina Étranger.

August 12, 2019
Read reviews of Mitz from NPR and Paris Review and a review of Mitz and The Friend in the London Review of Books.

August 6, 2019
Today is the pub date of the new edition of Mitz: The Marmoset of Bloomsbury. Read Peter Cameron’s new afterword to the book in the Paris Review. And a conversation with Carrie Mullins about Mitz appears in Electric Literature.

July 8, 2019
Whoopi Goldberg recommends The Friend as a favorite book for summer reading on “The View.”

June 23, 2019
The Friend is a Top Five Fiction Choice of The Sunday Times (UK) 100 Best Summer Reads of 2019.

May 18, 2019
The Friend has been named a Best Book of the Year So Far by The Times (UK).

April 1, 2019
The Friend is the next selection of Moira’s Book Club of the Seattle Times. The book discussion takes place at noon on May 7th.

March 10, 2019
Sigrid’s short story “The Plan,” published in LitMag, has been selected for Best American Short Stories 2019.

March 6, 2019
Sigrid is on the shortlist for the finalists of the 2019 Simpson/Joyce Carol Oates Prize.

February 16, 2019
The Friend is a New York Times paperback bestseller and an Indie national bestseller.

February 5, 2019
Today is the pub date of the Riverhead paperback edition of The Friend.
The Friend has also just been published in the UK by Virago .

December 2018
Read a profile of Sigrid by Alexandra Alter in The New York Times.
The Friend is BuzzFeed’s Book Club December Pick.

November 2018
Sigrid’s novel The Friend has won the 2018 National Book Award for Fiction.
A Cat, by Leonard Michaels, has just been reissued by Tin House. Read Sigrid’s introduction in the Paris Review Daily.

August 2018
Read Sigrid’s review of Sight, by Jesse Greengrass, on newyorker.com.

July 2018
Sigrid has a new short story, “Hotel Story,” in the current issue of Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine.

May 26, 2018
Read Sigrid’s column in the Wall Street Journal on 5 favorite books about dogs.

March 2018
Sigrid’s story “The Plan” has been published in the current issue of LitMag.
Available by subscription and at Barnes and Noble.